Big Spring School District Newville, Pennsylvania Board Meeting Minutes December 3, 2024



The Big Spring School District is an equal opportunity education institution and will not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, religion, and disability in its activities, programs, or employment practices as required by Title VI, Title IX, and Section 504. For information regarding civil rights or grievance procedures, or for information regarding services, activities, and facilities that are accessible to and usable by handicapped persons, contact the Superintendent of Schools, Title IX and section 504 coordinator, 45 Mt. Rock Road, Newville, PA 17241, at (717) 776-2412.

1. Opening of the Annual Re-Organization Meeting – John Wardle, Board President

The Board of School Directors for the Big Spring School District met in the Big Spring Middle School Auditorium at 7:30 pm with nine (9) Board of School Directors present: John Wardle, President; Michael Hippensteel, Vice-President; Lisa Shade, Treasurer; Julie Boothe, Secretary; Seth Cornman, David Fisher, Kenneth Fisher, Frank Myers, and Robert Over.

Absent: No absences

Others in attendance: Nicholas Guarente, Superintendent; Nadine Sanders, Assistant Superintendent; Cristy Lentz, Business Manager; Donna Minnich, Board Minutes; Rob Krepps, Director of Technology; and Darin Baughman, Technology Support.

President Wardle led all individuals present in the Pledge to the Flag.

- 2. **Recognition of Visitors** 19 visitors signed in for the meeting
- 3. Public Comment Period Nothing offered
- 4. Election of Temporary President Secretary Julie Boothe

Mr. Hippensteel made a motion to nominate Mr. John Wardle as temporary President which was seconded by Mr. Cornman

Voting Yes: Boothe, Cornman, D. Fisher, K. Fisher, Hippensteel, Myers, Over, Shade, and Wardle Motion Carried unanimously. 9-0

Elected: **John Wardle** (temporary appointment)

- 5. Election of Officers Refer to Sections 402 and 404 of the Public School Code of 1949
 - 5.a. Election of the President One Year Appointment

Mr. Hippensteel made a motion to nominate Mr. John Wardle for the office of President which was seconded by Mr. Cornman

Voting Yes: Boothe, Cornman, D. Fisher, K. Fisher, Hippensteel, Myers, Over, Shade, and Wardle Motion Carried unanimously. 9-0

Elected: John Wardle

Mr. John Wardle started his new term as the elected President of the Board.

5.b. Election of the Vice-President - One Year Appointment

Mrs. Boothe made a motion to nominate Mr. Mike Hippensteel for Vice President which was seconded by Mr. Myers.

Voting Yes: Boothe, Cornman, D. Fisher, K. Fisher, Hippensteel, Myers, Over, Shade, and Wardle Motion Carried unanimously. 9-0

Elected: Mike Hippensteel

6. Appointments of Committee Members - December 2024 through November 2025

President Wardle reviewed the committee appointments with the Board and asked if there were any corrections or objections and there were none.

6.a. Athletic Council - One Year Appointment

- 1. Ken Fisher
- 2. Mike Hippensteel
- 3. Frank Myers
- 4. John Wardle

6.b. Buildings and Property Committee - One Year Appointment

- 1. David Fisher
- 2. Mike Hippensteel
- 3. Sharpe Over
- 4. John Wardle

6.c. Capital Area Intermediate Unit - One Year Appointment

1. Seth Cornman

6.d. Cumberland Perry Area Career Technical Center - One Year Appointment

- 1. John Wardle
- 2. Mike Hippensteel

6.e. DIG Committee

- 1. Julie Boothe
- 2. Seth Cornman
- 3. Lisa Shade

6.f. Finance Committee - One Year Appointment

- 1. Julie Boothe
- 2. Frank Myers
- 3. Sharpe Over
- 4. Lisa Shade

6.g. Future Ready Comp Plan Reps - One Year Appointment

- 1. Ken Fisher
- 2. Lisa Shade

6.h. Policy Review and Development Committee

- 1. Seth Cornman
- 2. Julie Boothe
- 3. David Fisher

6.i. South Central Trust Board - One Year Appointment

- 1. Seth Cornman
- 6.j. Tax Collection Committee One Year Appointment
- 1. David Fisher

6.k. Wellness Committee

1. Seth Cornman

7. Meeting Closing

7.a. Business from the Floor/Board Member Comment

Mr. Over congratulated Mr. Wardle on his new term as Board President.

Mr. Wardle thanked the Board and community for their support and said it is important to work together for the success of our students.

7.b. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn the meeting by Mr. Myers was seconded by Mrs. Shade Voting Yes: Boothe, Cornman, D. Fisher, K. Fisher, Hippensteel, Myers, Over, Shade, and Wardle Motion Carried unanimously. 9-0

Meeting adjourned at 7:41 pm, December 3, 2024

Next scheduled meeting is: December 16, 2024

Julie & Boothe